Nashville Banner

Steve Cavendish is the president and editor. A 25-year veteran of newspapers including the Chicago Tribune and The Washington Post, Steve returned to Nashville in 2011 and edited both The City Paper and Nashville Scene.


Demetria Kalodimos is the executive producer. She is a household name in Nashville, having anchored and reported news for 34 years at the city’s first television station, WSMV. She has won many of the most prestigious awards in broadcast journalism and has produced feature-length documentaries and programs for the festival circuit and nationally on PBS.


Paige Hendrickson is the director of development. A fundraiser specializing in nonprofit news organizations, Paige comes from WPLN where she raised millions for public radio.

Board of directors


Steve Cavendish President & Editor, Nashville Public Media

Bruce Dobie President/CEO, Power Poll

Beth Fortune Retired Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs, Vanderbilt University

Tené Franklin Vice President, Health Leads

Michael Whitley (Chair) New York Times


Advisory Board


Jacky Akbari, Founder and Managing Principal, Worthington Advisory

Samar Ali, Research Professor, Vanderbilt University, Millions of Conversations

Derek Crownover, Partner, Loeb & Loeb

Alfred Degrafinreid, Associate Vice Chancellor, Vanderbilt University

Kriste Goad, Chief Fire Starter, Fuoco

Jose Gonzalez, Faculty, Belmont University; Co-founder and Finance Director, Conexion Americas

Jennifer Johnston, Writer

Baylor Bone Swindell, Principal, The Baylor Company