Nashville Banner

Who we are


Steve Cavendish is the president and editor. A 25-year veteran of newspapers including the Chicago Tribune and The Washington Post, Steve returned to Nashville in 2011 and edited both The City Paper and Nashville Scene.

Demetria Kalodimos is the executive producer. She is a household name in Nashville, having anchored and reported news for 34 years at the city’s first television station, WSMV. Demetria has won many of the most prestigious awards in broadcast journalism and has produced feature-length documentaries and programs for the festival circuit and nationally on PBS.

Paige Hendrickson is the director of development. A fundraising professional specializing in sustainable revenue for nonprofit news organizations, Paige comes from WPLN, where she raised millions for public radio.

Board of directors

Steve Cavendish President & Editor, Nashville Public Media

Bruce Dobie President/CEO, Power Poll

Beth Fortune Retired Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs, Vanderbilt University

Tené Franklin Vice President, Health Leads

Michael Whitley (board chair), International Planning Editor, The New York Times

advisory Board

Jacky Akbari, Founder and Managing Principal, Worthington Advisory

Samar Ali, Research Professor, Vanderbilt University, Millions of Conversations

Derek Crownover, Partner, Loeb & Loeb

Alfred Degrafinreid, Associate Vice Chancellor, Vanderbilt University

Kriste Goad, Chief Fire Starter, Fuoco

José D. González, Faculty, Belmont University; Co-founder and Finance Director, Conexion Americas

Jennifer Johnston, Writer

Baylor Bone Swindell, Principal, The Baylor Company

Editorial Independence Policy

Nashville Banner retains full authority over editorial content to protect the best journalistic and business interests of our organization. We maintain a firewall between news coverage decisions and all sources of revenue. Acceptance of financial support does not constitute implied or actual endorsement of donors or their products, services or opinions.

We accept gifts, grants and sponsorships from individuals and organizations for the general support of our activities, but our news judgments are made independently and not on the basis of donor support.

We accept donations to support the coverage of particular topics, but our organization maintains editorial control of the coverage.

We accept anonymous donations for general support, but only if it is clear that sufficient safeguards have been put into place that the expenditure of that donation is made independently by our organization

Our news judgments are made independently — not based on or influenced by donors or any revenue source. We cede no right of review or influence of editorial content, nor of unauthorized distribution of editorial content.

When donors or corporate sponsors who have given $1,000 or more per year are named in our stories, we will disclose them on those pages. Our organization will make public all donors who give a total of $5,000 or more per year.

Corrections Policy

Nashville Banner is committed to accuracy and promptly corrects errors of fact or confusing or misleading statements. We are ethically bound to correct errors — including but not limited to misstatements, factual errors, misleading statements and inaccurate quotations — as soon as they are verified.

Reporters are required to alert their editor to any complaint or error that becomes known to them and investigate. If a correction is necessary, it must be posted by an editor as soon as possible at the bottom of the story, in italics, and contain the following information:

* A clear statement admitting the mistake and setting the record straight. Ideally, this statement does not repeat the original error, but is allowable if the correction cannot be conveyed concisely and clearly without doing so.

* The date of the correction.

* Be labeled an “editor’s note” and acknowledge the story was corrected.

* To request a correction, please email our editor, Steve Cavendish or our Newsroom.